COVID-19 “Procurement take-off” of a leading European airline

Nothing flies: the entire fleet, consisting of more than 80 aircraft, had to stay on the ground and, due to the Covid-19 pandemic, no forecast as to a possible restart could be made. However, it was obvious that purchasing plays a key role not only in order to reduce costs, but also to sustainably increase competitiveness. The biggest challenge was at the same time the biggest opportunity of this project, expressed by the interesting question:

 

How can the airline and its suppliers re-position themselves for future business activities, in a way that synergies can be achieved? And how can innovative ideas be used for cost reduction purposes that can be realized in a timely manner?

Approach

A format was developed which focused on a close co-operation between airline and suppliers – and thus the whole value chain. In order to achieve sustainable cost reductions, an “innovation module” was additionally integrated, designed for the evaluation, discussion and financial assessment of new ideas. As an integrative framework, our 4-pillar principle was applied:

  • selection of potential suppliers, including internal pre-analysis
  • evaluation of internal measures, as well as ideas for cost reductions
  • development of an 360° communication package and dispatch to suppliers
  • conduct of innovation workshops & individual negotiations.

What was paramount: the holistic analysis of the supplier portfolio, in order to identify the right partners and at the same time start queries and evaluations. Furthermore, measures and potential cost savings had to be assessed. Besides the integration of the involved departments was important, to be able to meet suppliers in a self-assured manner.

Solution

The whole concept is based on the “open visor” idea in order to achieve a win-win scenario with suppliers. Equipped with a sound analysis, the suppliers' ideas and clear expectations, we then started the final “Supplier Innovation Day”, consisting of the following 3 basic steps:

  1. Evaluation of the ideas and measures submitted in advance, hybrid model of virtual & face-to-face negotiations
  2. workshops, final assessment of the ideas,
  3. conduct of the negotiation, with conclusive signing by both parties

As project result, we achieved more than 24% in cost reductions, while quality and service remained on the same level. This corresponds to a lever of invested consultant budget and result of >25. Moreover, the complete value chain was strengthened by the open and co-operative approach, which was reflected, inter alia, by a very positive feedback of the suppliers. 

Would you like to learn more about our Innovation Management?

Learn more

More Case Studies

We learn with every project and make sure that new projects benefit from it. You too can grow with our experience.

To the overview

COVID-19 “Procurement take-off” of a leading European airline

Focused innovation management and a collaborative negotiation approach led to more than 20% cost reductions.

Read more

Mobile communication rates: game-theoretic allocation mechanism realizes cost savings of over 40%

Transparency and comparability for the development of dynamic competition at a global technology group.

Read more

Do you have any questions about this topic?

Contact our expert

Dr. Kai M. Dresch

Senior Partner

E-Mail

Your Message

Please fill in field!
Please fill in field!
Please fill in field!
Please fill in field!
Please fill in field!
Please fill in field!
Back

COVID-19 „Procurement Take-off“ einer führenden europäischen Airline

Nichts fliegt mehr: Die gesamte Flotte, bestehend aus über 80 Flugzeugen, befand sich am Boden und bedingt durch die Covid-19 Pandemie gab es keine Prognose, wann der Re-Start möglich sein würde. Offensichtlich war jedoch, dass der Einkauf eine wichtige Schlüsselfunktion einnimmt, um nicht nur die Kosten zu senken, sondern auch die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit nachhaltig zu steigern. Die größte Herausforderung war zugleich auch die größte Chance dieses Projektes, denn es stellte sich die interessante Frage:

 

Wie kann man sich gemeinsam mit den Lieferanten für das zukünftige Geschäftsfeld so aufstellen, dass Synergien erzielt werden? Dass innovative Ideen in Kostenreduzierungen münden und gleichzeitig eine zeitnahe Realisierung möglich ist?

Ansatz

Es wurde ein Format entwickelt, das eine enge Kooperation zwischen Airline und Lieferanten in den Mittelpunkt stellte – also die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette. Zur nachhaltigen Kostensenkung wurde zusätzlich ein „Innovations-Modul“ integriert, das neue Ideen evaluiert, diskutiert und finanziell bewertet. Integrativer Rahmen dabei war unser 4-Säulen-Prinzip:

  • Auswahl der potenziellen Lieferanten inkl. interner Voranalyse
  • Evaluierung von internen Maßnahmen sowie Ideen zur Kostensenkung
  • Erarbeitung 360° Kommunikationspaket und Versand an Lieferanten
  • Durchführung von Innovationsworkshops & individuellen Verhandlungen.

Im Vordergrund stand die ganzheitliche Analyse des Lieferanten-Portfolios, um die richtigen Partner zu identifizieren und gleichzeitig Abfragen und Bewertungen zu starten. Darüber hinaus mussten Maßnahmen evaluiert und potenzielle Einsparungen bewertet werden. Zudem war die Einbindung der Fachbereiche entscheidend, um auch gegenüber den Lieferanten „mit breitem Kreuz“ auftreten zu können.

Lösung

Das gesamte Konzept beruht auf der Idee des „offenen Visiers“, um ein Win-Win-Szenario mit den Lieferanten zu erreichen. Mit einer stichhaltigen Analyse, den Ideen der Lieferanten sowie einer klaren Erwartungshaltung starteten wir dann in den finalen „Supplier Innovation Day“, mit den folgenden 3 grundsätzlichen Schritten:

  1. Bewertung der vorab eingereichten Ideen sowie Maßnahmen, hybrides Modell aus virtuellen & Face-to-Face-Verhandlungen
  2. Workshops, finale Bewertung der Ideen
  3. Durchführung der Verhandlung mit abschließender Unterschrift beider Parteien

Als Projektergebnis erreichten wir mehr als 24% Kostensenkungen bei gleichbleibendem Qualitäts-/Servicelevel. Das entspricht einem Hebel von eingesetztem Beraterbudget zum Ergebnis von >25. Außerdem wurde die gesamte Wertkette durch den offenen und kooperativen Ansatz gestärkt, was sich u.a. in einem sehr positiven Feedback der Lieferanten zeigte.

Sie möchten mehr über unser Innovation Management erfahren?

Zur Leistung

Weitere Case Studies

Mit jedem Projekt lernen wir dazu und sorgen dafür, dass neue Projekte davon profitieren. Wachsen auch Sie mit unseren Erfahrungen.

Zur Übersicht

COVID-19 „Procurement Take-off“ einer führenden europäischen Airline

Fokussiertes Innovationsmanagement und ein kooperativer Verhandlungsansatz führten zu mehr als 20% Kostensenkungen.

Mehr lesen

Mobilfunk-Tarifauswahl: Spieltheoretischer Vergabemechanismus bringt Einsparungen von über 40%

Transparenz und Vergleichbarkeit für die Entwicklung dynamischen Wettbewerbs bei einem globalem Technologiekonzern.

Mehr lesen

Haben Sie Fragen zu diesem Thema?

Kontaktieren Sie unseren Experten

Dr. Kai M. Dresch

Senior Partner

E-Mail

Ihre Nachricht

Bitte füllen Sie dieses Feld aus!
Bitte füllen Sie dieses Feld aus!
Bitte füllen Sie dieses Feld aus!
Bitte füllen Sie dieses Feld aus!
Bitte füllen Sie dieses Feld aus!
Bitte füllen Sie dieses Feld aus!
Zurück